Get to know the different types of yoga

For Quick Enquiry
Nameyour full name
Does yoga do anything for obesity?
October 14, 2017
Astanga and Vinyasa: What’s the difference?
October 14, 2017


The term Yoga is usually used to define a set of asanas, alignment of body and breath. However, over time Yoga has developed certain categories within itself. Each category consists of a unique set of asanas that targets a particular part or changes in your body and mind. Hence knowing each category will ensure you to select the right one for you. Let’s understand the different types of yoga.

Anusara Yoga

It is the modern day yoga which was founded by John Friend. Anusara yoga enables you to practice alignment, heart opening postures and various meditative positions for different ailments.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga involves movements of eight limbs and proper breathing to flush out toxins from your body leaving you vitalized and fresh throughout the day.

Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga is an integral branch of yoga that deals with series of postures to master the body along with mind exercises for a stronger emotional control. It includes various yoga postures that aim at improving the breath and alignment of your whole body.

Iyengar Yoga

With the combination of intellectual and spiritual base, Iyengar moves forward to provide your body a rejuvenating look. Iyengar is a practice with lots of details given to each practice to ensure that it is completed with precision. It is a great training for beginners.

Kripalu Yoga

Kripalu is a combination of three aspects of you- body, mind, and energy. It involves knowing your body, training your mind and improving your energy so that it can control both mind and body effectively for the rest of your day.

Kundalini Yoga

The practice of kundalini yoga consists of many body movements. The aim of the yoga is intended to release the kundalini energy in your body. This energy awakens your mind and body.

Prenatal Yoga

Prenatal yoga has been carefully designed for expectant mothers. Mothers who cannot practice yoga during their pregnancy can perform these for better body function. It includes yoga to improve stamina, strengthen muscles, increase energy and in turn facilitates more food flow from mother to baby.

Restorative Yoga

Restorative yoga is more of relaxation than yoga. It involves five or six poses that would allow your body to relax and recover from strenuous yoga completely poses performed earlier, restorative yoga needs to be done at the end of any yoga session.

Sivananda Yoga

It is a series of yoga developed from the ancient yoga type called hatha. This yoga has been perfectly crafted to release excessive tension from your body through systematic contraction and relaxation of various muscles in our body.


In viniyoga, the yoga adapts to its user’s requirements. It involves various minor changes in traditional yoga practices to get your desired result. Vini refers differentiation, adaptation while yoga means application.

Vinyasa Yoga/Power Yoga

It is an athletic style of yoga adapted from various other traditional yoga styles such as ashtanga, Jivamukti, etc. power yoga changes its style and varies to suit the western needs. It involves intensive postures with the spiritual base of yoga. But breathing is always considered necessary in this type as it has been derived from Ashtanga.

Yin Yoga

Yin is a Taoist yoga class that has more of the spiritual base than dynamic movements. It is a slow-paced style of yoga in contrast to power yoga. You need to keep a position for a particular amount of time starting from 30 seconds to 3 minutes. This form relaxes your central nervous system and provides you with a positive vibe.

In the end, it can be said that Yoga is a collection of physical, spiritual and psychological training that needs a proper combination of consistency and discipline. It is important to know that yoga needs to be done properly irrespective of what type of yoga is chosen for practice. So find your type of Yoga and start practicing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: